CIMA Exemptions CIMA Syllabus

The CIMA Syllabus and how is it different?

The aim of the CIMA syllabus is to prepare students to become Chartered Management Accountants. The syllabus therefore covers all the topics that are relevant to management accounting, and also covers various aspects of general and business management, and teaches students the skills that they will need in order to succeed in the business world.

What sets the CIMA qualification apart from other accounting courses is that its focus is not only on the technical aspects of accounting and finance, but that it prepares students for successful careers within the corporate sector, and places an emphasis on management and management skills. The syllabus therefore includes not only the technical aspects of accounting, but also communication skills and human resource management, strategic thinking and analysis, change management, project management, information systems and applied management accounting techniques.

CIMA qualifications are therefore highly suitable for anyone wanting to advance their careers in business and who aim to work in top management positions of organisations.

How is the CIMA Syllabus structured?

The CIMA syllabus is structured in a progressive order. The work covered in one level is based on work that was covered in a previous level. This means that the different levels need to be completed in a particular order.

The entry-level course is the CIMA Certificate in Business Accounting, which is a prerequisite for admission to the CIMA Professional Qualification. Students with relevant previous qualifications may be exempted from the Certificate, and could be allowed to enter straight into the Professional Qualification. You can visit CIMA’s website to view their exemption policy. In order to qualify for entry into the CIMA Certificate, you do not need to meet any specific academic requirements, other than that you need to be able to read and write in English, and that you need to be able to do basic mathematics.

The next step is the CIMA Professional Qualification, which has four levels. You can only become a Chartered Management Accountant once you have passed all four of these levels.

Below you will find a brief outline of the overall structure for the CIMA qualification.

CIMA Certificate in Business Accounting

The CIMA Certificate in Business Accounting consists of the following modules:

    • Fundamentals of Management Accounting

    • Fundamentals of Financial Accounting

    • Fundamentals of Business Mathematics

    • Fundamentals of Business Economics

    • Fundamentals of Ethics, Corporate Governance and Business Law

CIMA Professional Qualification: The 4 Levels

  1. Operational Level

    • Paper E1: Enterprise Operations

      1. The Global Business Environment

      2. Information Systems

      3. Operations Management

      4. Marketing

      5. Managing Human Capital

    • Paper P1: Performance Operations

      1. Cost Accounting Systems

      2. Forecasting and Budgeting Techniques

      3. Project Appraisal

      4. Dealing with Uncertainty in Analysis

      5. Managing Short Term Finance

    • Paper F1: Financial Operations

      1. Principles of Business Taxation

      2. Regulation and Ethics of Financial Reporting

      3. Financial Accounting and Reporting

  2. Managerial Level

    • Paper E2: Enterprise Management

      1. Strategic Management and Assessing the Competitive Environment

      2. Project Management

      3. Management of Relationships

    • Paper P2: Performance Management

      1. Pricing and Product Designs

      2. Cost Planning and Analysis for Competitive Advantage

      3. Budgeting and Management Control

      4. Control and Performance Measurement of Responsibility Centers

    • Paper F2: Financial Management

      1. Group Financial Statements

      2. Issues in Recognition and Measurement

      3. Analysis and Interpretation of Financial Accounts

      4. Developments in External Reporting

  3. Strategic Level

    • Paper E3: Enterprise Strategy

      1. Interacting with the Competitive Environment

      2. Change Management

      3. Evaluation of Strategic Position and Strategic Options

      4. Implementation of Strategic Plans and Performance Evaluation

    • Paper P3: Performance Strategy

      1. Management Control Systems

      2. Risk and Internal Control

      3. Review and Audit of Control Systems

      4. Management of Financial Risk

      5. Risk and Control in Information Systems

    • Paper F3: Financial Strategy

      • Formulation of Financial Strategy

      • Financing Decisions

      • Investment Decisions and Project Control


You can study for your CIMA qualification through Skills Academy:

At Skills Academy you study via distance-learning, which gives you the advantage of being able to study towards your qualification while you work. You can also study in your own time, and you do not need to worry about attending classes. 

CIMA Exemptions | CIMA Exemptions for ACCA

Last updated: December 13th, 2016